FOOOOD IN CHARLESTON

IMG_1190

IMG_1191

IMG_1192FOOOOD IN CHARLESTON

WOW. When my husband and I agreed to take this trip I have to admit a big pull was the fact we would eat East Coast seafood. I don’t know why there is a difference with the East Vs. West Coast but there is. We were oh so excited to eat ourselves around Charleston. We did that part brilliantly. There were two restaurants that I really enjoyed. Great atmosphere, friendly folks, and awesome food. HYMAN’s and FLEETLANDING.

When I went to use the restroom at Hyman’s, on the back of their stall door was a quote that says life is all about attitude. “10% of life is what happens to us, 90% is how we CHOOSE to react”. Boy did that hit a home run already in my mind. Then when I went to wash my hands they had a scrub that you could sample. I was a pretty happy girl and I hadn’t even tried the food!!
The Hubby and I decided to share a combination plate of 5 different samples. Fried oysters, shrimp, Crap Cakes, Deviled Crab, and Shrimp Carolina. A side of collard greens, coleslaw and hushpuppies were also served. Now, we went basically the fried/fat way so I’m sure/know there are other choices if you choose. My favorite had to be the shrimp and shrimp Carolina. Where we live, the shrimp is shrunk to almost nothing and a tad on the rubbery side. Oh man, was I in for a treat. Plump, juicy, flavorful shrimp was so different I was in a daze. NOW my favorite, well one of my favorites. The shrimp Carolina….WOW, WOW, WOW….shrimp topped with an almost alfredo type sauce served on top of grits. I had no clue I’d love it so much. I practically stabbed my lunch partner anytime he wanted a sample of his own. THEN, my other favorite were the hushpuppies. Gee Louise, these hushpuppies might as well have been doughnuts, so wonderfully fried and flavorful…..ahh, my mouth is watering just thinking of it. If you haven’t got the gist, the food is great. The owners also came by to visit and he treated us to an appetizer (Fried Green Tomatoes) I’m already missing and wanting to create my own.

FLEETLANDING….sits right on the shore. A waterside view obviously with outside seating. It was a great place that the locals all seemed to hang. The food was fabulous. There I had a side salad and hushpuppies stuffed with lobster with a sauce. Yeeeeah, it was awesome. Travis had a Oyster (he’s crazy about em’) Po’Boy and even that was tasty! Again, I can’t express how good the seafood is. Now people from there may think I chose the worst places but until they live in a place where seafood is basically non-existent they’ll have to keep the shock to themselves.

This is also the land of Sweet Tea, I obviously don’t drink it but I loved their own tea that’s from the tea plantations there so I can only imagine how delicious the sweet tea would be. Fried Green Tomatoes (YUM) galore, Ice cream, chocolate shops, fried food ,baked food, jambalaya, grits, collard greens….I really was in heaven. We thankfully walked, biked, and ran the whole time we were there-that helped us eat even MORE food ;).

I also have this “thing”, I have to order a slice of Pizza wherever we go, because….who knows minus the fact I love pizza. Now, New York ruined the idea of what I thought was “good” pizza from home, but I still have to give all places a pizza shot. So, I got a slice for Andolini’s and it was wonderful. Just the way I like, a HUGE slice, packed full of flavor and toppings. Delicious….it can definitely hang with the boys in New York!
Happy Thursday! 🙂
Be Kind

QUOTE FROM HYMANS
The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life. Attitude, to me, is more important than education, than money, than circumstances, than failures, than successes, than what other people think or say or do. It is more important than appearance, giftedness, or skill. It will make or break a company, a church, or a home.
The remarkable thing is we have a choice everyday regarding the attitude we embrace for that day. We cannot change our past. We cannot change the fact that people act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude. I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me, and 90% how I react to it.
And so it is with you, we are in charge of our attitudes.

2 thoughts on “FOOOOD IN CHARLESTON

  1. Glad you had a great experience in Charleston. Next time you go, you should try Bowens Island out near Folly Beach. It’s definitely off the beaten path and there’s usually always a line, but you really can’t get fresher seafood anywhere in Charleston.

    For pizza- Andolini’s is a great choice. If you’re ever in Boston, stop by Pizzeria Regina, because that’s some of the best pizza I’ve ever eaten.

Leave a Reply

