Tasty Tuesday–Orange Zest Baguette French Toast

Tasty Tuesday--Orange Zest Baguette French Toast

Well, two things that I want to make clear— 1) I’m having the hardest time remembering to take a photo of the food BEFORE I dive right in…SORRY for the not so pretty pic! 2) WOW…I think I could eat this everyday–yes I modify the recipe a touch but it reminded me of a doughnut for some reason. Hold onto your seats, stare down your screen….recipe yuuum is on its way!

You’ll Need: (FOR ORIGINAL RECIPE)
1 Baguette, 3tbl butter, 3 Eggs, 2 cups Milk, 2tsp Vanilla, pinch Sea Salt (or salt if not), 1tsp Orange Zest, 2tbl orange juice, 3tbl sugar, Powdered Sugar for top

You can drizzle maple syrup or even blackberry syrup when finished cooking.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Place the butter into the 9X13 dish and let the butter melt in the oven. Cut your baguette in half long ways and then in half again. Mix all of the ingredients (minus powdered sugar and sugar) together in a bowl and mix until foamy. Place your bread into the dish-cut side up in with the melted butter, then pour your ingredients over the bread. Let the bread set for a few minutes and flip it around so that the mixture covers all of the bread and soaks in on both sides. Make sure your bread is cut side up again and sprinkle with sugar. Let it bake until golden brown (30-40 minutes). Then when you take it out you will sprinkle with some powdered sugar.
You can eat it like this or you can add the syrups I mentioned above.

I was absolutely in heaven eating this. NOW, I honestly ALWAYS modify most of my recipes because it’s what I do. I didn’t use the sugar or the orange juice and I sprinkled Stevia on top of mine and didn’t use any powdered sugar. I thought it was wonderful my modified way, so I would think trying it just like the recipe…mmm, be ready to be hooked!

***For those of you who don’t know about the Orange Zest. You snag an orange and use something like a cheese grater or a cheese grater to just skin some of the peel off into the mixture.

Have a wonderful Tuesday–Choose Happy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

