Potato Soup–Tasty Tuesday

In the wonderful world of crazy weather. We’ve had some freezing days with wild winds and then, beautiful warm sunny days!

Last week was so nice but then out of the blue came a cloudy chilly day! It got me in the mood for a nice bowl of soup. Before when I’ve made potato soup I couldn’t figure out what it needed. I talked to my good friend Katelyn and mystery solved! Instant potatoes! So thank Kate! (Katelyn is also an awesome photographer! Look her up at www.facebook.com/blessedphotographybykatelyn. (Especially those of you in the Lubbock area!) Now back to the soup!

I filled my pot up about 3-4 inches with water and added 5 cubes of chicken bullion. I cut up zucchini squash, some onion, carrots, garlic, celery and potatoes. I put all of these things in the pot and then added a pouch of Loaded Baked Mashed Potatoes. Turn your heat to low and cover for a good while (until all your veggies are soft). I loved adding the instant potatoes because it helped with adding just the right seasoning as well as giving it the texture.

I used:

1 zucchini squash

1/4 onion

5-6 stalks celery

1 tablespoon garlic

2 big handfuls of carrots

2 large potatoes

1 full bag instant loaded mashed potato mix

I didn’t use as many potatoes as I probably could have, but sometimes I like less of the potato chunks and more veggies! Go figure!

Make a pan of cornbread with it and you have a nice hearty-healthy meal!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

