The longer I li…

The longer I live the more I see that I am never wrong about anything, and that all of the pains I have so humbly taken to verify my notions have only wasted my time.
–George Bernard Shaw

The longer I live….I realize that quote to be the truth. The longer I live I only pray to gain more wisdom and learn more of my own truth.

Since I was a little girl, my mother would take me everywhere with her and so I’m used to be around older adults. I have been told numerous occasions that I’m far beyond my years and maybe going and listening to older people speak is the reason. Then again, I’ve been around older people and listened to them “pass around their knowledge” and I’m only left with a feeling of disappointment. The good news is, I haven’t had that occur too often and when I did even that was a lesson to be learned.

For awhile now I’m trying to change my perspective. Haven’t you noticed to us “youngsters” that if something happens in our lives it’s such a big deal, and we worry and we just don’t know how we can go through the next few years. BUT we’re already better…for us that have children we watch our 2/3 year olds throw fits like the world literally came to an end and we just shake our head and laugh (or do an eye roll and take a deep breath!). It’s an example for us how time changes.

The gentlemen that go and get coffee in the mornings or the women who sit out on the front porch chatting, there isn’t much that gets a rise out of them. The things they’ve done, they no longer feel the need to apologize. For most this has nothing to do with arrogance or the fact they’re old and cranky (somewhat of a joke). It’s all about their age and their perspective on life. They have learned first hand that it’s all going to be okay, that life will still continue on so you might as well enjoy it. There aren’t reasons to fret to no end, there aren’t reasons to become so absorbed in something that it makes us feel like we are total failures. It’s life. Society has helped determine what’s right and wrong. And what we should be focusing on, or  listening to, is OUR OWN TRUTH. If it doesn’t settle right with you, IT’S WRONG and who cares if someone else wants you do it for them (they’ll just want something else 5 seconds later). If it feels right with you, DO IT, even if it’s viewed wrong to society. Don’t get me wrong I’m not saying you go around causing havoc wherever you go…if you’re interpreting my opinion as that stop reading! We are still expected to behave properly, even though I’m wondering if that’s falling a way itself…but that’s another subject for another day.

My point is….I want to “think” older, I want to have that peace that generations before me already have because they can look at my situation and laugh, or some yearn to go back, and some know exactly why I may be upset at the time but in their mind its miniscule because life will continue on.

I agree with ol’ George up there…And I will no longer accept the pain of my notions…it’s simply a waste of time. Just IMAGINE…if we can change OUR perspective on our life right now…IMAGINE how much easier it could all be…..and by doing so, well, it would change so many things for us. We are then capable of looking at life from a different point of view and then making different decisions that quite possibly save us from having to make mistakes or choose an entirely different path.

I’m all in. Happy Wordy Wednesday!

One thought on “The longer I li…

  1. Hi you, Okay I am leaving a comment and hopefully it will “stick” this time. I think your ideas are great and practicing them will become your perfection. I love you, MOM

Leave a Reply

